The Virtual Drawing Room: A Video Game Chamber Music Concert

by Dan Salsberg on September 25, 2012

in Event announcements

An upcoming concert at Berklee College of Music tomorrow night, Wednesday, September 26th at 7:30pm.

The Virtual Drawing Room presents music from and related to the interactive medium of video games, scored for an ensemble not typically associated with gaming culture: the string quartet. As the concert’s title evokes the intimate space of a 19th century salon, the program examines popular assumptions about video game music, illuminating the genre’s unique properties and questioning to what extent the conventions of concert music and film music apply.

The program features music from the 2001 role-playing game Arcanum by Berklee professor Ben Houge, Lacrimosa from Dead Space 2 by Jason Graves, and Init by Monolith/Warner Bros. composer Nathan Grigg.  Also featured is John Cage’s Four (1989), which exemplifies principles of non-linear organization that are at the root of video game music design, in honor of the composer’s 100th birthday earlier this month.

Full details are here:

TheVirtual Drawing Room: A Video Game Chamber Music Concert
Wednesday, September 26, 2012, 7:30pm
David Friend Recital Hall
921 Boylston Street
Boston, MA, 02115

Virtual Drawing Room

Virtual Drawing Room

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: